Total Pageviews

Thursday, March 22, 2007

Annual research awards from Ranbaxy Science Foundation

Ranbaxy Science Foundation, a non-profit organization established by Ranbaxy Laboratories Limited, today announced its Annual Research Awards for the year 2005 to 6 scientists as listed below:
Dr. Sankar Ghosh, Professor, Section of Immunology and Department of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry, Yale University School of Medicine, USA, received the award in Basic Research for his several ground-breaking discoveries in the broad field of cell signaling in immunology.

Dr. Nirbhay Kumar, Professor, Molecular Microbiology & Immunology, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University, USA, and Dr. B.C. Das, Director of Institute of Cytology and Preventive Oncology (ICPO), India, jointly shared the award in the field of Medical Research.Dr. Nirbhay Kumar also received the award for his outstanding research in malaria that have led to novel approaches to the prevention of transmission of this important human infection.

Dr. B.C. Das was selected for the award for his original contributions in the early detection and control of cervical cancer which is a major cancer among Indian women and a public health problem.

Dr. Inderjit Singh Anand, Professor of Medicine, Cardiovascular Division, University of Minnesota, and Dr. Surendra K. Sharma, Professor & Head, Chief, Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India, were jointly conferred with the award in the field of Clinical Research.

Dr. Anand got the award for his contributions in the field of High Altitude Medicine and Biology and Dr. Sharma will receive the award for his outstanding contributions in the field of tuberculosis, HIV and interstitial lung disease.

Dr. Ahmed Kamal, Scientist, Biotransformation Laboratory, Division of Organic Chemistry, Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad, India, received the award in the field of Pharmaceutical Sciences for his innovative contribution in designing the new molecules based on the receptor-fit mechanism particularly for DNA minor groove binding and DNA topoisomerase II inhibition.

No comments: